Conversations With John (Part 2)

He looked at me for a moment in silence.  I realized my lips were parted and I licked them nervously and took a sip of water.

“What is it that you want, exactly?” he said then, his voice low and quiet.

I looked down at the table, then back at him.

“I don’t want anything,” I said to his profile, my voice soft.

He looked at me and narrowed his eyes again.

“Everybody wants something,” he said.

I shook my head slowly and repeated, “I don’t want anything.  I have everything I need.  I have everything I desire.”

He smiled, which threw me.

“You’re lying,” he said.

“Your avoiding the question,” I said, as I stood to go.

“You’re lying,” he repeated.

I leaned toward him as if to whisper in his ear and instead let him hear me smell his cologne.

“How do you know if I am lying or not,” I said, my lips close to his cheek.  “You don’t even know my name.”

I turned and left the building.

Leave a Reply

