Aquarius

Why do you hold yourself

locked away in that tower

of forged glass?

Permitting me to see you

clearly,

as if you were

accessible.

Yet, as far away as if

you were a figure

etched in stone

upon a monument

to my young self.

How I idolized you,

and how I cared for you,

and how I was left

with a hand full of

nothing

but ash.

It is the ash of you in

the future,

permanently gone.

It is the ash

of me in my future,

forever separate,

and impermanent.

I never wanted

the distance

you created.

I only honor it,

for you made the

decision.

I was given

no choice.

There are many kinds

of death.

All of them

create changes

that cannot be

erased,

and time does not heal

all wounds.

Leave a Reply

