Unapologetically Woman

My lips yield knowingly to your

pressing stare,

silken gown enshrining me

in its shimmering folds,

I’ll wear no veil,

my hair flowing

like rain down

my supple back,

a mane of freedom,

not encased in the tomb

of their shame,

my eyes locked upon yours,

the palms of my hands, with

their long, slender fingers,

weave themselves over my

voluptuous form,

liking the feel of it,

not starved into the

shape of an adolescent male,

not hindered by the

cloak of their sin,

not hidden from view,

as if it were forbidden fruit

that they sneak a bite of

when no one is looking.

I am not the shed skin

of an evil serpent,

but the supple rhythm of

one coiled, watching,

mysterious in its forthright

stare,

deadly only if

deemed so by those

who fear it,

wrapped luxuriously around those

who understand,

or at least who

seek to.

4 comments on “Unapologetically Woman

  1. ozymandiaz says:

    lots of seeking here
    little understanding
    beautifully powerful write

  2. ejalvey says:

    Thanks, O. Keep seeking. It’s what we’re all here for, in one way or another.

  3. i like the last section, on the snake. fear and acceptance. cool.

Leave a Reply

