Invocation of Bromios

It is under your strong hands

Bromissimo,

that I shudder, exalted,

head thrust back upon

your shoulder,

as you hold me

pinned tightly to your chest

our breath united

in a dance of silent yearning,

beginning as the moon rises,

her light intoxicating the

shadows that she casts.

Your hands play me

like the song

that you sing

huskily for my ears only,

strumming me deftly,

rising and falling in your

sweet serenade.

Your language is

sensation,

I see behind my

darkened eyes

the birth of mountains,

heaving and rocking

in great rising pitches,

landing spent

upon the landscape.

O, Bromissimo,

sing to me your song

of fauns,

cloven hooves

and horned heads

tossed in ecstatic defiance,

gifts of passion offered

like luscious fruits

ripened in the autumn sun,

dripping their sweet juices down

my chin.

Devour me with your

virile essence,

for you release me

upon the wind,

so that I might

ride the waves of

eternal bliss

if only for this moment,

wild, creature of the night,

unbridled fury,

my chanting is the rhythm

to your song,

as I become one with

the waters,

shimmering moonlight,

midnight dew.

15 comments on “Invocation of Bromios

  1. 1markt says:

    This is an incredible piece. Bravissimo! I would like to invite you if opportunity presents itself to 1markt.wordpress.com, I think there maybe some common ground here. Please leave a comment if moved to.
    Marcus T.

  2. ozymandiaz says:

    Should I refer to you as Persephon-E?

  3. chucky0629 says:

    OK, blogging genius… maube you can help the rest of us sort through the complex labyrinth of wordpress… ssom other time, though. I like this complex poem, loaded with metaphor and imagert. Mythical and mystical. Your trannsformation (becoming one with…) is especially strong and provcative. Nice going. Oh, did you notice the small typo in line 17 (strumming ‘my’ deftly?

    • ejalvey says:

      [I still use pens and paper, so you better find a different techie.]

      Thank you for the feedback. I’m glad you like it.

      I did not notice the typo, thank you.

  4. gnunn says:

    This poem bristles with yearning…

    Love the ending:

    ‘my chanting is the rhythm
    to your song,
    as I become one with
    the waters,
    shimmering moonlight,
    midnight dew.’

    it flows like summer rain.

  5. ozymandiaz says:

    I know I should have said Dionysos but it didn’t have an E
    and i am somewhat remiss on my classical studies.
    and just so you’ll know, Hades isn’t such a bad fellow, he just gets a bad rap in movies beacuse of his job…
    when it comes to relationships though he is on again, off again.

    • ejalvey says:

      It was cute that way. I actually feel a difference between Dionysus and Bacchus, though I know most modern people think they are basically same. Kind of like the difference between Satyrs and Fauns.

      The underworld is an important part of the journey for all of us. Monotheism just fucked that all up, but they have a tendency to do that. Yeah, I’m not sure Hades and I would be good lovers, but one never knows…

  6. ocksblog says:

    nice poem, it seems to have a lot of pace and energy which is cool, and I like the sense of abandonment and virility

    I had to look Bromios up though – my knowledge of the classics is pretty much limited to what I learnt from reading Asterix as a child 😀
    (actually, I learnt a lot from Asterix, very educational books, for comics)

  7. ejalvey says:

    Thanks, Ocks.

    Lol.

  8. hootoo22 says:

    As previously mentioned, there certainly is a very good sense of rhythm to this poem and the form adds to this – each word pulls me down the page like the cascade of a stream over pebbles.

    Max.

Leave a Reply

