Ship Wreck

I am a ship

wrecked upon the shores

that are not of my own making,

though for years I was fooled,

thinking that I was at sea,

rocked as I was by waves

that proved to be malicious,

if only for their indifference,

Lulled to sleep by their rhythm,

a catatonic lullaby,

perilous in its sweetness,

a confection made from the

blood of the unwitting,

It is a golden ocean,

this sea of dreams,

that laps on the sands

of the grand illusion,

and all I wanted was the sweet

fresh air,

They can keep their fortune,

all I wanted was the sweet

fresh air.

2 comments on “Ship Wreck

  1. spaesee says:

    According to me, a well written post leaves a few questions unanswered. I think your post does.

    Came back more than once. It reminds me of Gary Allan’s ‘smoke rings in the dark’. Nostalgic.

    Cheers, keep writing…

  2. ejalvey says:

    Thank you for your comment, Spaesee. Glad to have you come by.

Leave a Reply

