Sleepless Nights

It soothes me,

music of the dead night sky,

it is silent,

punctuated by the soft, silver

wailing,

so soft as to mimic the silence

that it ripples,

No one noticed when the

lights went out.

No one noticed when the

lights went out.

But you,

and me.

We stood staring,

eyes begging for

forgiveness,

but nothing came,

just a strain

for the moon

that failed,

burned out and broken,

like the promises.

We whispered,

wondered where the stars had gone,

Where did they go,

when they died?

you’d said.

Is there a heaven for stars?

you’d said.

But all I could do was

shake my head,

and my tears fell

into darkness,

like little stars

themselves.

I remember how

my eyes could see,

colors bolder then

we could ever be,

I think there is vision,

if only there is light.

But no one noticed when the

lights went out.

No one noticed when the

lights went out.

But you,

and me.

One comment on “Sleepless Nights

  1. ejalvey says:

    Dedicated to occupiers…everywhere.

Leave a Reply

